Tracking things, information and people in Second Life: Wishful Thinking

I’m exploring and learning Second Life. Things that attract me toward SL are:

1)My area of interest being physical paper file tracking, I want to present some of the paper file location tracking information on to a online collabration tool. And Second Life is a rich and fun candidate to evaluate.

2)I’m following Amazon Web Services and there is so much Second Life buzz on AWS. With a little digging you will know why. Apart from the fact that Jeff Bezos has invested in Second Life, there are efforts to bridge the bland and complex Amazon.com with Fun and immersive SL with AWS playing the lead role of course.

3)There is immediate money to be made in SL. It will be attractive for creative and tenacious photoshop happy client of mien.
4)SL could be an entry for Google Sketchup/Earth geotagging boom set to happen in the mid term.
I’m contemplating a hospital information system visualized through SL. With focus on making it easy to interact with information, things, and people. I’m not discouraged by my present trouble with getting around SL.

Links:
Second Life for a weekend

Amazon Web Services Presentation In Second Life

The Electric Sheep Company

Millions of us

A real hotel in making at virtual world

And for some specific tips while in-world:

Ariane Brodie’s Second Life Tips and Scripts

unrealistic

I met a dude from Bangalore(Thiyagarajan) who was into second life at BlogCamp. I’m surprised by the lack of awareness about SL with the BlogCamp crowd. We were wondering if there will be a SL track next time around!
I’ll add it to my wish list. 🙂

About labsji

I blog, Therefore I exist ! Funny things are funny to me. Cool things are cool to me. Innovations tick me. I attempt spirituality religiously :)
This entry was posted in Amazon Web Service, Entrepreneurship, humour, Second Life, social networking, taking web2.0 to real world, technology, Web 2.0. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tracking things, information and people in Second Life: Wishful Thinking

  1. Andy Piper says:

    If you are getting into SL, you might also be interested in some of the posts over at eightbar.

  2. Pingback: Second Life warming up for Real Life; Events is SL « Joy Of Innovation

  3. Pingback: Making Machinima with Second Life « Joy Of Innovation

Leave a comment