Flutter:Of Snowballs and Pearls

Mordern science is obsessed with naming theories, concepts, mountain peeks units after pioneers. There is more to naming than just a easy handle. Here is my go at the origin of Snowballs( bearing in mind the Indian adage that it is “Futile to trace the origin of a river or of a saint” )

Confused said:

There’s always some stimulus to write a post about something. It may come from something you read, something that comes up in physical conversation, something you see while surfing the web, whatever. And sometimes it’s none of these, it’s your personal muse.

I tend to think of this stimulus, this spark, as the thing that sets the snowball off. And I wish I had a word for it, like pearls have nacre. I don’t want to use nacre because likening blogs to pearls feels a bit presumptuous. Yet stimulus and spark and root and words like that don’t feel right either.

The sense I’m trying to capture is one which shows the opensource and shared and emergent and free and growing and energetic and creative nature of ideas in blogs, something that snowball captures well. What do we call this thing that starts a snowball? Doc, anyone else, any ideas?

How about Flutter?
As in Butterfly Effect and the natural way a butterfly inspires freedom, contemplation.

And the cruel reality of most flutters:
LoveButterfly
Cartoon courtesy Hugh

PS: I am posting this here as this comment went into a Moderation queue/Blackhole without much feedback. The result of having so many links. A feedback like “awaiting moderation” would have saved me this trouble.

About labsji

I blog, Therefore I exist ! Funny things are funny to me. Cool things are cool to me. Innovations tick me. I attempt spirituality religiously :)
This entry was posted in Idea Factory, Joy of Innovation, social networking, Web 2.0, Weblogs. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Flutter:Of Snowballs and Pearls

  1. allan says:

    And I thought the Butterfly effect had to do with china and chaos.

    I need to study romance instead.

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

