Blue Screen of Death: About failure,And to do nots

I am holding my breath and waiting to read the failure story of Jawwad a successful Karachi businessman. I have read the preview of the book and it is very interesting. He makes an interesting metaphor of the infamous Windows bluescreen with respect to startups. I am able to fully relate with what he is talking about. Both at personel level and at professional level. It is written in a witty style. You can read it just for that. Here is a sample from his promotion in his blog

At the business school orientation for new arrivals, a fellow student asked me why I was at Columbia. My response drew a look of confusion – “I always wanted to write a book, run the New York Marathon and do a play on Broadway, the MBA is just for cheap subsidized housing.”

This of course was January 1999. As of 22 April 2006, I am proud to report that I am too fat to run and that though there were multiple attempts to produce Harvey, a Mary Allen Chase Play about a six foot tall invisible rabbit, all were sabotaged by a six foot tall invisible rabbit.

On the book front there is good and bad news. The good news is that no trees were cut down or killed in the final production run of the ebook “Blue Screen of Death – A desi’s misadventure in the land of opportunity”. Initial reviews are promising (read: not as bad as I expected), encouraging (no multi million dollar advance offers, but there is always hope for that call from Oprah or Ellen) and detailed enough to provide material for my next book “The Blue Screen – Reloaded”

My interest goes beyond the usual wannabe’s interest. I’m also interested to know how IT startups are doing in Pakistan. They dont have the baggage of the outsourcing success stories of TCS, Infosys and Wipro.

It might be interesting to note that I came across Jawwad’s blog while playing at BlogShares a fantasy sharemarket for blogs – I dont play a lot. It was pure Serendipity.

I will read the full book and post a full review.
Here is the favourite cartoon as usual from Hugh that puts the post in context
Stupid
Update:
Sam Phillips of Society of Actuaries has an interesting coverage of the Blue Screen Book. You can purchase the e-book too!

About labsji

I blog, Therefore I exist ! Funny things are funny to me. Cool things are cool to me. Innovations tick me. I attempt spirituality religiously :)
This entry was posted in Angst of Innovation, humour, Joy of Innovation, Startup, technology, VC, Weblogs. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blue Screen of Death: About failure,And to do nots

  1. Jawwad says:

    Balaji

    The book is now available for free under the creative common license on the blue screen website.

    Jawwad

Leave a Reply

